September 24, 2009

Dog Assistance Organizations

Posted in Uncategorized tagged at 12:47 pm by smilinshell11

I know a lot of you don’t live in the Pacific Northwest or raise for other organizations other than Guide Dogs for the Blind.  I have people asking me what other organizations are out there that they can help raise a puppy with around the country (I’m looking right now for an organization that someone could raise in Minnesota to be exact).  It doesn’t have to be specifically for a guide dog.  Does anyone have a list or know of a place where I could get some information on organizations out there?  The internet kind of scares me sometimes. hehe 🙂 I would like to pass on places that either you or someone you know has had contact with, but understand that might not be possible.  Also, if they have local clubs, that would be wonderful.

Thanks in advance for any info you might have! 🙂

6 Comments »

  1. Ally said,

    Minnesota… hmm… GDA has a club out there, not sure of the exact location though, they’d have to check. CCI pups can be out there, I believe PAWS but I’m not positive on that one. Guide Dogs of the Desert has remote raisers. Let me see if I can think of any others 😉

  2. Ally said,

    KSDS, the only reason we’re not raising for them is the distance. New Horizons Service Dogs based in Florida has remote raisers, Canine Support Teams (where Charlie is from) also has remote raisers. I’m sure there are some smaller schools in Minnesota as well.

  3. Ally said,

    Hmm… seems my fever is taking over my neurons worse than I thought! GDA has a club in Montana, at least it was an “M” state!

    • Ally said,

      Sorry, my geography is awful! I got 13 states right on all of my geography tests in high school, 8 of those were guide dog puppy raising states 😉 I would just listen to Lisa 😉

  4. lisa said,

    KSDS (www.ksds.org) has raisers in MN. KSDS raises guide dogs, service dogs and social dogs. I can answer questions about KSDS if you have any.

    CCI and LD also have raisers in that area.

  5. Madison said,

    Canine Companions for Independence also has raisers in MN. I would be happy to answer any questions on CCI…..

    Website: cci.org
    Phone Number: 1-800-572-BARK


Leave a Reply

