June 27, 2009

The Vet & Vegas

Posted in Guide Dogs for the Blind, Travel tagged , , , , , at 9:28 pm by smilinshell11

Donata left Tuesday evening.  It was kind of weird not having her at work with me on Wednesday.  On Monday, I had to meet our leader at the Vet.  Donata had “taken a turn for the worse” early Sunday morning.  Poor Puppy. 😦 She was up every 2-3 hours starting at 2:30 am.  I had put about 10  pieces of kibble in with her cottage cheese and rice and apparently her system wasn’t ready for it.  We didn’t feed her Sunday morning though Sunday evening, we did 1/2 of the normal cottage cheese and rice as not to starve her and prayed she would make it through the night (which she did). 

I want to know why all vet’s smell the same? 🙂 I don’t remember the last time I went to one, but they all have a distinct smell.  Our leader met us there (since it was her dog) and the vet did a full exam.  I was so happy to have the sheet of when she had poop/pee with me so I could give the vet when she had “done her business” and what and when she had ate.  He thought she might have a bacterial infection, but couldn’t confirm it without a poop sample (which after pooping that much, well good luck getting a sample). 🙂  He put her on some medicine and Monday evening, she seemed to be doing better.  He said to keep her on the cottage cheese and rice diet till everything looked good again.

I emailed our leader on Wednesday and she seemed to be doing much better.  It’s no fun having a sick puppy.  You want to make them feel better, but there isn’t much you can do.  I’m just thankful it wasn’t anything worse.

Oh and while I’m thinking of it, we are FOR SURE going to the California Puppy Fun Days!  We booked our tickets this week and are super excited. 

This Wednesday we leave for Las Vegas for the 4th of July weekend.  I’m SUPER excited because we are going to see Michael Buble in concert!! (Screams like a girl at a ‘N Sync Concert) 🙂  For those of you who don’t know who he is, here are two of his songs (Everything) : 
and Home (thanks to YouTube):

I hope you all have a wonderful 4th of July.  I’ll post an update when we get back!

1 Comment »

  1. Lisa said,

    Glad to hear Donata’s doing better! Enjoy the concert – he’s dreamy!


Leave a Reply

