June 20, 2009

Donata and The Horses

Posted in Guide Dogs for the Blind, Me, Uncategorized at 9:13 pm by smilinshell11

To make you excited about reading this post, there is a surprise at the end.  I have never posted a picture of myself on this blog and maybe (if you are lucky) you will get to see Donata and I. 🙂  Donata has been with us since Tuesday and will be here for probably another week.  Malta (who was being raised by Loyola’s family who is now raising Jessa) will be going to a different family next weekend but in the mean time our Leader couldn’t have two dogs so we offered to take Donata.  It’s the longest we have ever had a dog and let me tell you, I’m exhausted!  It’s like having a little shadow near you 24/7.  I admire all of you full time puppy raisers that’s for sure! 🙂  Today we had an outing to a farm where Donata had her first experience with a horse.  This is the first meeting:
1st Horse

Then at the end. Lots of love from her new friends!
4987_1163254955804_1060753564_493396_3363283_n

Here she is on the way home. I don’t understand why she was behind Mr. Charming’s seat which was all the way back when I moved up to give her more room.
5191_764393766708_10707299_43788462_518053_n

She has been at work with me every day. She has done VERY well and I’m thinking about training her next week on answering the phone…
5191_764395782668_10707299_43788644_135372_n

We also went to Costcoand got a new dog bed. We have been meaning to get one for oh a year now and thought since we would have a puppy longer than a couple of days, now would be a good time. It only took her 4 days to figure out it was her bed and she could lay on it.

5191_764395787658_10707299_43788645_2589371_n

We attempted to go the gym on Thursday for yoga.  She was doing awesome till about 15 minutes in.  Since Wednesday she has been having diarrhea. 😦 She has been VERY good about giving me this look of “you need to take me outside now” which she did at the gym. After talking with our Leader, we skipped dinner Thursday night and she has been on the rice and cottage cheese diet since.  She kept looking at us Thursday night like “Hey uhh I know you guys had dinner, but you forgot mine”.  She hadn’t pooped since Thursday and she finally did tonight but it wasn’t good again. 😦 I hope she gets to feeling better for her sake. It’s no fun not feeling good.

And as promised “the picture”. 🙂

Donata and I

We won’t be doing much puppy sitting the next couple of months but have lots of fun things planned.  Stay Tuned! 🙂

2 Comments »

  1. Lisa said,

    Oh I love the one of the horses giving kisses! That’s so cute. You guys look great together!

  2. I love the horse picture! You’re right–raising 24/7 is a lot of work, but you get used to it after awhile (like when you take care of a kid). I can’t even imagine my daily schedule without frequent relieving breaks, obedience sessions, and walks. 😉

    Donata is so cute and you two make a good pair. 🙂


Leave a Reply

