June 3, 2009

The Soloist

Posted in Life, Uncategorized tagged , , , , , , , , , at 7:27 am by smilinshell11

The Soloist

Do you ever read a book that really just touches you in some way?  I just finished The Soloist by Steve Lopez (which the book was made to a movie now in theaters).  See the trailer here: http://www.soloistmovie.com/  Amazing.   Right before reading this book, I had read One Month to Live: Thirty Days to a No-Regrets Life which is another book I would recommend.

Anyways 🙂

In college, I majored in Sociology with an emphasis in Globalization and Social Change. I took classes on immigration, criminology, social work, and human rights law. Those classes really gave me a new perspective on the world we live in. I had been on many mission trips to Mexico and Honduras and I have never seen so much joy in people who hardly have anything. It makes you grateful to have running water, food, and a place to lay your head at night.

I also worked with students with disabilities in college where I first found out about Guide Dogs for the Blind. A student who was always working in the students with disabilities office, had a guide dog. Ever since then, I had been interested finding out about them. Wouldn’t you know, because of an interaction almost 5 years ago, I would be helping the same organization that was helping that guy today.

There is a part in the book that seemed to hit me hard. Steve (thew writer) spends a night on Skid Row in Los Angeles which is home to one of the largest transient populations in the United States. There are people being beat, over-dosing, and dying right in front of him and there is nothing he can do. He comments on how much disparity and sickness is happening so close to his house but everyone seems to ignore it.

Between those two books, I feel like I should be doing more for the world around me.  I have no idea what that is, but hope one day I’ll be doing something I truly have a passion in for helping others in some way or another.

Leave a Reply

