May 12, 2009

Puppy Update

Posted in Guide Dogs for the Blind, Uncategorized tagged , , , at 8:20 pm by smilinshell11

To start things off, Loyola is in Phase 4 as of a week ago.  I was talking with her raisers at the last meeting and if she is career changed, they would take her back!  I know she has a great shot of making it, but you never know what will happen in the next 6 phases. 

Simmons is heading back this week. 😦 We said our good bye’s at our meeting last week.

These past two weekends we have been busy puppy-sitting.  The first weekend we had Donata (5-1/2 months old) who is 1/2 Golden Retriever, 1/2 Black Lab.  She likes to jump up on people so we worked with her on that.  I had her at work with me Friday and Monday and she was perfect.  She slept both days and never made a sound.  She totally has the puppy look going for and is just a very sweet dog.  Here are some pictures:

P1030206

Donata in her vest:

P1030227

As you can see, she made herself pretty comfortable at work:

P1030218

I love these last two pictures as she is totally doing her puppy look:

P1030228

P1030216

 

This past weekend we had Topeka who is almost 7 months old.  (It seems like yesterday she was just coming off the truck!)  She has sure grown up since the last time we had her! She still loves to give kisses (licking) but overall has really matured and is a great loose leash dog. Here are some pictures of her:

P1030230

Topeka in her jacket:

P1030232

I was on my computer and I look down to find her sleeping like this:

P1030241

 

Next time we have Topeka will be the end of the month. If I’m feeling motivated, I might be posting some unrelated Guide Dog posts. We will see how that goes. 🙂 If you have any great suggestions for topics, I would love to hear them.  Also, please let me know if you want to be added to my blog roll.

1 Comment »

  1. Puppy Raiser said,

    Wow, I’ve never seen a black lab/golden retriever cross. She’s beautiful! Such a glossy coat!


Leave a Reply

