April 23, 2008

Garage Sales, Farmer’s Markets, and Gardens Oh My!

Posted in Food, Going Green, Mr. Charming, Stores tagged , , , , , at 9:42 am by smilinshell11

This weekend the city we live in is doing a community yard sale.  It might sound like we live in a small city but according to the 2000 Census, there is about 70,000 people.  They posted addresses of people who are having one by zip code, if they are Saturday and/or Sunday, and if they are multiple families in the local paper.  I think it’s a great idea considering one person’s junk is another person’s treasure.  You can find some great things at garage sales and be able to recycle something that might other wise end up in a landfill.  I think you will know where to find Mr. Charming and I Saturday morning. 

I was also reading in the paper this morning that they won’t be starting a farmer’s market until May of 2009 which makes me sad.  There is another one close by in the next city that I will have to check out.  I love fresh veggies and fruit and would prefer to support local growers than by from a supermarket like Safeway.  Speaking of Safeway, they no longer carry turkey pastrami in their deli (at least at our Safeway).  It is one of my favorite meats. 

I am trying to do my part in “going green”.  I know there is always way I can improve.  My parent’s live on about an acre and my dad is planting me a bunch of things for me: Blueberries, raspberries, onions, corn, lettuce, and carrots and in our backyard we have a plum, pear, and apple which will produce a little fruit.   I can’t wait for summer.

1 Comment »

  1. NetDiva said,

    I totally hear you about preferring to support local farmers. In fact I found your blog because it has some of the same tags as my recent post about avoiding Safeway. http://digestthis.wordpress.com/2008/04/28/avoiding-safeway/


Leave a Reply

